Haiku is Hard, With a Capital H

Fifth grade was the one and only time that I ever wrote haiku. Until this week, when it became the WordPress Weekly Writing Challenge, in spades — times five, to be exact. Writing haiku is hard. It is so deceptively simple on the surface. Even now, I still don’t really understand it. Every word must encapsulate such descriptiveness. Is there a logic to the seemingly spontaneous stream of consciousness that must be obeyed? There is so much thought, so many choices to be made to meet the three lines and 5+7+5 syllabic requirement. There I go again, psychoanalyzing poetry to death. But I don’t think haiku changes my way of thinking, so much as it brings out a different way for me to think.

Victory

Victory (Photo credit: sgatto)

A Victory Haiku
To grasp the brass ring,
I give my blood, sweat, and tears.
Triumph will I sing.

Lullaby (Sophie Barker album)

Sophie Barker album (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A Lullaby Haiku
Of big, dimpled cheeks,
And eyes, curiously round:
Love inspires, astounds.

English: Savannah kittens showing affection

Savannah kittens (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A Love Haiku
Arms to hug and hold,
And ears to hear and listen,
When the world turns cold.

This image was selected as a picture of the we...

Lightning strike (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A Storm Haiku
A crack of thunder,
And staccatos of lightning.
Very much worth watching.

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

