Daily Prompt: Inside the Actor’s Studio

James Lipton with guest Angelina Jolie. The ma...

James Lipton with guest Angelina Jolie (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

On the interview show Inside the Actors’ Studio, host James Lipton asks each of his guests the same ten questions. What are your responses? Now this is inexorably, inexcusably and unapologetically late on my part, but I didn’t start participating in the Daily Prompts until fairly late in November. Nevertheless, I think it’s a fun challenge to tackle. Whenever I remember to tune into PBS to catch the Actor’s Studio with Mr. Lipton, this is my favourite part of his interviews. It shows how truthful the interviewees can be (or conversely, how creative they can be).  

What is your favorite word? Serendipity. It starts with an s, has five syllables, and rolls off the tongue much easier than antidisestablishmentarianism, which has twelve syllables.

What is your least favorite word? Um … it’s um. (Although never is a close second, and not just for its axiomatically incorrect and paradoxical use in the sentence “Never say never”).

Red Autumn Tree

Red Autumn Tree (Photo credit: Southernpixel – Alby Headrick)

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? Music in general does the trick, and specifically, Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons. In my opinion, every movement bestows and correctly interprets the moods for spring, summer, fall and winter.

What turns you off? People who leap into a conversation I’ve started. The fact that I rarely start conversations at all adds to the annoyance factor.

What is your favorite curse word? Horseapples. It lets me be creative without making the air blue. I don’t use it as much as I should, although my swear jar isn’t as full as that of some others I know to be. It’s also a notch above typical four-letter invectives.

Unwrapping Valrhona Ampamakia 2006

Unwrapping Valrhona Ampamakia 2006 (Photo credit: EverJean)

What sound or noise do you love? The sound of a candy bar being unwrapped. It’s a signal that my reserves of theobroma are low and need replenishing with an independent, unshared source of chocolate.

What sound or noise do you hate?
The sound of a commercial truck wheel exploding. Having actually been in a vehicle five car lengths behind said truck, it was the equivalent of hearing a gun shot at close range. I had the deer-in-the-headlights expression on my face for a good 30 seconds after that.

Skydiving

Skydiving (Photo credit: Boofalo Blues)

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Skydiving. I’ve had so many dreams where I am flying [usually away from my enemies] that it’s probably time to try to do it in real life. Hopefully the parachute opens when and where it should.

What profession would you not like to do? 
It’s a tie between undertaker and professional foot smeller. Not much chance for socialization with your colleagues, in either profession. Professional foot smeller it is.

If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? Go back and finish that last blog post first.

18 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Inside the Actor’s Studio

  1. I missed this one too as I was running Project R: Relationship Interrupted on my blog for the latter part of November and since I’d promised my participants a full day on my blog for each of their respective contributions, I couldn’t post anything of my own.

    What a great idea – to return to older prompts. May try and see if I can find some of the others as well.

    Loved your answers. Serendipity is amongst my favourite words too.

    And your answer to: What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Skydiving! You will absolutely love it. I’ve never had such an adrenaline shot since. In a strange way it makes you feel so alive that you want to burst 🙂

    And we share the “dreams where I am flying” too. I remember my first ever dream – a boy with indigo eyes taught me to fly and I haven’t stopped since. It does come in handy when chased by enemies 😉

    Thank you for a great post. Really enjoyed it. Off to write my own answers now (although I will be taking the fictional sidestep this time).

    Warm regards,
    Vic

    Like

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

