Hey, You’re Sittin’ in Your Own Do(o)!

Ducks just aren’t too particular about where they plunk their posteriors down (I’ll remember that fact the next time I need to buy a down jacket or a down-filled comforter). But I suppose when you go fishing in your own toilet, some disregard for personal hygiene is to be expected.

Mallard Hen gives me the 200-degree stare.

Mallard Hen gives me the 200-degree stare.

Mallard Hen 2

The same move as above, popularized from a different angle.

Mallard Hen 3

It’s nice for a change to not have to dress up for the guys, isn’t it?

Yes, we even captured a couple of photos of a Cooper’s Hawk diving for and (successfully) catching a fish–at long range, I’m afraid, and a bit too tiny to share. This is where a telephoto lens would have come in handy (of course, had a $3000 telephoto lens gone into the drink with us when the canoe went tippy, maybe not having one with us wouldn’t be such a bad idea after all). Note that I don’t actually have a telephoto lens.

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

