Two Woodpeckers, A Squirrel, and a Sextet of Dickey Birds

This gallery contains 5 images.Β Here is an infrequent visitor — a Downy Woodpecker. She was daintily and slowly moving up and down the suet feeder (making the accompanying female Red-Shafted Northern Flicker impatient).

How many grey bushtits can go on a suet feeder at once? At least five to six, I think. Such efficient and adorable little feeding machines! This is only the second time that we have seen them in the backyard, as they tend to swarm in the pyracantha bushes out front instead. Guess they got the news, too. πŸ™‚

6 Grey Bushtits Feeding

The resident squirrel was caching nuts in his mouth and nibbling on late winter rotting piece of apple, which he quickly discarded. He’s obviously given up hope of being an acrobat on the suet feeder. The little “rat”scal.

10 thoughts on “Two Woodpeckers, A Squirrel, and a Sextet of Dickey Birds

  1. Hello, there! I must say I see your posts quite frequently, but I wanted to stop by and chat a bit today. I cannot BELIEVE these animal photos you have. You must have a great photo lens or quite good timing. Ok, now I sound like WordPress “Spam” ! Egads. Anyhow, I do enjoy the bird pictures most of all. I love nature and animals. Keep up the good work and blogging. Cheers, D

    Like

    • D, it’s actually luck of the draw (good timing) πŸ™‚ — the digital camera is a non-DSLR 12.0MP model with the standard lens that is due for an upgrade!

      ever since we put out the suet feeder and bowl of seeds in mid-December, the flocks have been coming! πŸ™‚
      thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Well, you do have good timing then! I think it’s been an extra cold winter everywhere this year, so the birds seem to be loving the food we humans put out. Cheers and have a great week! D

        Like

      • it’s actually been okay in Vancouver, BC Canada. We’ve had a few days of snow, and a handful of days where the temperature has been just below freezing, but on the whole, it’s been a rather mild winter for us — especially compared to the rest of Canada and many places in the States. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Yes – the States! It’s been so cold here this year. Unusually so. I have one Canadian friend (Time with Thea), and she’s got a great blog. You might check hers out. Tell her I sent you! πŸ™‚ Cheers!

        Like

  2. The red shafted northern flicker is one of the prettiest birds I have ever seen. The colors and markings are so pretty.
    This is one of the reasons I like coming here to your site, I see birds and other things here that I do not see in my little corner of the world.
    Our squirrels here are gray or red and yours look to be black,
    Very cool photos and Ty for sharing.

    Like

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

