Daily Prompt: The Transporter

A taste that transports me back to my childhood is curry. I grew up absolutely relishing yellow Malaysian curry–which, once it started cooking slowly, could be inhaled in all its spiced glory from anywhere in the house. “We’re having curry!” was a familiar triumphant cry at the dinner table.

This dish was made in our household with crushed dried (and de-seeded) red chili peppers, curry powder, a dash of turmeric and cardamom, julienned ginger, cinnamon, a generous amount of coconut milk, lots of garlic, thick-sliced slightly pre-cooked potatoes, a well pounded concoction of spices that included lemon grass, peppercorn, galangal, and star anise, and partially pre-stir-fried chicken drumsticks. It was served over a bed of rice that was constantly ladled with curry sauce. The chicken, cooking in the curry, was simply fall-off-the-bone tasty.

curry puffs

curry puffs by goodiesfirst, CC-BY-2.0

Not a month would go by when we didn’t have Malaysian curry at least once; it was our (most exotic) comfort food, and one of the few dishes that my mom would never have to ask me to eat more of. It certainly kicked dinner up a notch, and I looked forward to plenty of leftovers the next day.

Breakfast was hot: bread dipped in reheated curry sauce. My enthusiasm for curry grew to encompass beef rendang, beef curry puffs, chicken vindaloo, chicken tikka masala, lamb korma, beef tandoori, and madras chicken, when I ate in; Thai red curry with sliced eggplant (vegetarian curry), and skewers of satay sauced barbequed beef, chicken, and pork, when I ate out.

Curry could not, and still cannot, do any wrong in my eyes — it is, after all, the ultimate coverup! 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Transporter

  1. I never ate curry growing up and then my husband got stationed in the U.K. and we started going to Indian restaurants. By the time we left, I was a huge fan. Curry was one of the first things my son learned to cook and sometimes he will go in the kitchen on a whim and start making one and the smell of curry will start wafting through the house- one of the best cooking smells ever, in my opinion!
    We have a Thai restaurant in town now and I always order the Penang Curry. Maybe the same thing as Malaysian curry? It is so good. I always tell myself I should try something else on the menu but….=)

    Like

    • wow, that’s an interesting acquaintance with curry you have!! 🙂

      Panang curry is Thai in origin and Malaysian curry is from Malaysia (I know, they are only off by a vowel! 🙂 ).

      The former tends to be redder in colour thanks to the use of red curry paste and peanut butter (Malaysian curry is yellow on the account of turmeric and yellow curry powder). Malaysian curry also uses some ingredients that are not used in the Panang curry, including coriander leaves, turmeric, cinnamon, star anise, chicken stock, light soy sauce, shallots, and coriander, and tends to be a little less thick on account of the chicken stock (or water) that’s used.

      of course, that’s never stopped me from experimenting and adding with other things! 🙂

      for your comparison and enjoyment!

      Thai Panang curry
      http://highheelgourmet.com/2013/09/29/authentic-thai-panang-curry/

      Gordon Ramsay’s 🙂 Malaysian curry
      http://www.food.com/recipe/gordon-ramsays-malaysian-chicken-curry-254495

      Like

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

