Daily Prompt: Forever Young

Scott Fountain Detail

Scott Fountain Detail by Maia CCC-BY-NC-ND-2.0

If there were a real Fountain of Youth, would I drink the water? It depends. Would staying young in body demand some sort of concurrent sacrifice? Would there be any ill effects? Would there be a hefty emotional or financial price to pay?

If I were only one of a few in the world who could successfully drink of this fountain, this mean that I would have to watch the inevitable aging of everyone else I know who cannot partake in neoteny?

What if I am homely, or deranged? Eternal youthfulness is not synonymous with physical or inner beauty. Eternal youth is also not equivalent to immortality; if it were, the phrase “only the good die young” would have to be subsequently redefined.

You can tell from the way that I answer these daily prompts with all these questions and stipulations, that I am certainly not a great believer in Occam’s Razor. My answers are predicated on a long-winded contract of assumptions.

I believe that age is a state of mind. I’m already young at heart, and the birthdate on the driver’s licence merits just about as much attention as the BMI/weight scale in the bathroom. So I guess I don’t really want to, or have to, drink from the Fountain of Youth.

Enhanced by Zemanta
18 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Forever Young

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

