I Shot the Moon!

Last night was a crescent moon, and tonight was a half-moon, shot through and framed by denuded trees at maximum optical zoom. The Sunset mode on my digital camera yielded the best results (better than Night Landscape mode), because the former did not diffuse the details of the moon or add a glow to it. Nice to be able to see a few craters and seas on the lunar surface!

a half-moon through the window

Imagine what I could do with a $3000 telephoto lens … I could probably capture a few astronauts on the surface! 🙂 I only had a few minutes to capture this moment before the moon disappeared behind the clouds, and this was the second-to-last shot!

4 thoughts on “I Shot the Moon!

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

