Daily Prompt: Ingredients

What’s the one item in your kitchen you can’t possibly cook without? A spice, your grandma’s measuring cup, instant ramen — what’s your magic ingredient, and why?

To quote that inestimable goose, Mr. Ping, and adoptive father of Master Po the Panda in Kung Fu Panda, “there is no secret ingredient” (with the inflection on the “is” 🙂 ).

Imagination is the magic ingredient in my kitchen. A willingness (and patience) to push the boundaries of taste is essential in the culinary arts. You can’t bottle it, buy it, or patent it.

Imagination puts a spin on the conventional. It is the difference between saying, “I’m going to spice up my vegetable soup by adding enoki mushrooms and garbanzo beans”, “I’m going to make a bed of risotto with coconut sauce, shallots, and shiitake mushrooms” or “I’m going to use mango salad dressing on my sweet-and-sour pork and veggies” instead of “I’ll have the same old, same old.”

With imagination, I’m not just winging it at the local grocer by willy-nilly purchasing whatever spices go on sale and/or catch my fancy. Although I have been guilty as charged of engaging in those behaviours on (rare) occasion.

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Ingredients

  1. Pingback: Hot Damn! | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ingredients | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: A good knife is everything | "The Ish," presented by the Bohemian Rock Star

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ingredients | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ingredients | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily prompt: ingredients | ferwam

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

