Wallflower or Social Butterfly?

English: Beautiful Lycaenidae butterfly on a t...

Lycaenidae butterfly (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Do parties and crowds fill me with energy, or send me scurrying for peace and quiet?

It depends on the crowd, party, and/or conversation. The massive Boxing Day/Week crowds at shopping malls are guaranteed to give me a headache (mostly because it feels like we are moving at the speed of molasses), but otherwise, it isn’t easy to define me.

To many, I am a person of very few spoken words. I do value my me time as I need it for balance, and to “recharge my batteries.” I have also been perceived by many others to be quite aloof and anti-social — at least, that’s their first impression.

But don’t judge a book by its cover. I can strike up a conversation with a complete stranger, and feel energized by my “outbursts” of gregariousness. These interactions can happen because of professional engagements or personal obligations, but even those are not necessary. Sometimes I interact with others, simply because I want to!

Coast Wallflower

Coast Wallflower by Philip Bouchard, CC-BY-NC-ND-2.0

If it seems like there are a few too many pauses on my part at the beginning of a social exchange, it’s because I’m assessing the conversationalists and the conversation, and seeing if I can add anything interesting or informative. I believe that it’s important to say something and not just make small talk. But if there is a topic that really engages me, I can talk your ears off — and you’ll be wondering who put a quarter in me.

Over the years, it’s quite amusing to learn how both many strangers and friends have been genuinely surprised to discover that I not only possess a tongue, but can use it quite salubriously to articulate her opinions on a diverse range of topics. Still waters run deep. 🙂

And just for the record: although I am not one of those rarest of creatures called an INTJ (introversion, intuition, thinking, judgment) personality type, I am an ISFJ (introversion, sensing, feeling, judgement) personality, according to the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI), and a Protector Guardian, according to the Keirsey Temperament Sorter (KTS).

Enhanced by Zemanta
Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

