The Consolation Prize?

This gallery contains 8 photos. Despite its pastel pink flowers, the new hummingbird feeder is getting the cold shoulder from the hummingbirds, but at least, the old, much less flashier one is not … from the chickadees, anyway. Here’s a shot of one in action. He’s looking around to see if I’ve noticed him.

Chickadee on Hummingbird Feeder

And now he’s perfecting his “motionless/she-won’t-see-me” pose.

Chickadee on Hummingbird Feeder

He stealthily goes in for a big swig of a Shirley Temple.

Chickadee on Hummingbird Feeder

And finally he sights my camera on him, bill slightly agape as if to say, “Hey!”

Chickadee on Hummingbird Feeder

Here are the uncropped (well, less cropped) originals. Click on the individual images for larger poses.

Chickadee on Hummingbird Feeder Chickadee on Hummingbird Feeder Chickadee on Hummingbird Feeder Chickadee on Hummingbird Feeder

5 thoughts on “The Consolation Prize?

  1. I just love chickadees. I think they are spunky little characters. I remember my mom would sometimes sit outside with seeds in her hands and occasionally a chickadees would land on her hand to get some seeds. You should try it! 🙂 I’ve noticed here in N.C. the chickadees sound just a little different than the ones up north. I like to think its a southern accent.

    Like

    • as a matter of fact, I did give it a try today, but I was not overly patient about it. 🙂 will try again some time soon — they are such cheeky little darlings, and quite a few showed up today.

      I did hand feed a few (wild) Sandhill Cranes last year at the local bird sanctuary — and that was an awesome experience!

      Like

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

