Mine is Not the Life of Pi, But …

If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.

Frank Herbert's Dune

Dune (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve always found the bildungsroman, or coming-of-age novel, to be an interesting story form. L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables, Frank Herbert’s Dune anthology, Scott Orson Card’s Ender’s Game, Hal Borland’s When the Legends Die, Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations, S.E. Hinton’s The Outsiders, and Wilson Rawls’ Where the Red Fern Grows are personal favourites of that genre.

Seeing how I will progress down the path–as penned and/or told by another–delivers an interesting, if questionably accurate perspective; I might (alternately) take offence or be amused. However, I would choose not to read the story of my life in advance (thank you), because I also believe that (large degrees of) uncertainty add spice to life. That’s the “je ne sais crois” I have often alluded to in some of my blog posts. 🙂 

The Outsiders (novel)

The Outsiders (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Not being the author of my own destiny is a bit limiting, and having predictable outcomes over situations that I may have not seen coming or cannot exercise any control over would make life seem a rather uninteresting journey to go on. It would be existing as opposed to living.

There would be no mystique, no mystery to unravel; no milestones to look forward to or anticipate or questions to ask, because the events have already been written, and my choices in the adventure of life, set. The guarantee of happily forever (or not) after isn’t something I would look forward to, because granting me 24/7 prescience about my existence keeps me in the comfort zone all the time and eliminates opportunities for personal growth.

I want to be inspired by personal moments of loss and victory, times of heartbreak and joy, and situations ordinary and eventful; I want to know, for good or ill, whose lives I touch deeply, and whose lives touch mine irrevocably — but I don’t want to know in advance if I win the lottery of life, or don’t. I want a story that’s open to change; dynamic and ever evolving, not one that’s set in stone. I want to be moved by the story of my life — as I live it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Mine is Not the Life of Pi, But …

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

