Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer

What’s your travel style? Are you itinerary and schedule driven, needing to have every step mapped out in advance or are you content to arrive without a plan and let happenstance be your guide?

My travel style? Strict schedules are only to be obeyed with flight arrival/departure and cruise embarkment/disembarkment times. Sure, my itinerary needs to be well thought out with a fair amount of research on key places or attractions to visit, and time to be allocated for visiting them and getting there and back (to the accommodations), but not every single step has to be mapped out. 

macchu picchuMacchu Picchu by licor de mandarina (CC-BY-NC-ND 2.0)

A backup (“Plan B”) is a necessity though. I call it “planning for uncertainty.” For each place/attraction I am visiting, I will have at least two others in the same area to fall back on, simply because of my past experiences with restaurants. We have been to three or four different restaurants in one evening because choices #1, #2, and #3 are out of business (and didn’t bother to take down their website), are renovating, had a fire, or changed ownership and are no longer honouring their specials.

Of course, with full-day attractions like Disneyland and Universal Studios, not much planning is needed; the same goes for natural attractions like Yosemite National Park, Ayer’s Rock, Macchu Picchu, or Cape Breton National Park. Any time I visit a place where I have to do a minimum of 3-4 hours of walking, I can usually go with the flow and throw schedules out the window.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer

  1. Pingback: Watching the Wheels in Vietnam | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  2. Pingback: Humans and the wandering journey | Wired With Words

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

