Daily Prompt: Singing the Blues

Blue flower

Blue flower by @Doug88888 (CC-BY-NC-SA 2.0)

We all feel down from time to time. How do you combat the blues? What’s one tip you can share with others that always helps to lift your spirits?

I think that feeling blue comes from my being such an introspective individual and a daydreamer who attributes meaning and time, and imbues emotion and expectation (sometimes of a lofty magnitude) to everything I see and do.

Mine is the wandering mind: I walk through every minute of the day with one part of my brain envisioning what could be, and the other part accepting the reality of what is. Seldom can one be reconciled to the other. When I see a sun rise, I think of the future possibilities that the day may bring.

A Blue Jay (Cyanocitta cristata) perched on a ...

Blue Jay (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I fight blueness in several ways: one, by committing my thoughts to pen and paper, or in a post. Speaking as an avid reader of books, the power of words to build a dramatic if not positive tour-de-force of emotions cannot be understated.

Two, by spending more time outdoors (even in the dead of winter) and immersing myself in the wonder of nature. My soul is instantly calmed by the striking diversity of life–in both flora and fauna–that, on the surface, is so different from us.

Three, by engaging in fitness activities like tennis, biking, or hiking. Turning up the intensity and breaking a sweat is always good for boosting my endorphins.

English: I, mtjaws, took this picture of the B...

Blue Man Group at Universal Orlando by Mtjaws at en.wikipedia (CC-BY-SA 3.0)

Four, by singing (or listening to) songs that either celebrate the blues or triumph over formidable odds (Bill Conti’s “Rocky’s Theme” and Survivor’s “The Search is Over” are two of my favourites).

Five, by learning something new and out of my comfort zone. I derive a sense of accomplishment by tackling and resolving the previously unknown.

Six, by doing something silly and absurd. It’s not a cliché to say that laughter is the best medicine.

All help let me simply “be”; to accept and live in the moment. My final tip for lifting the spirits? Embrace the object or subject of my blueness. Try to see the positive side of something that depresses me. When I see a sun set, instead of thinking of my mortality, I look forward to seeing the moon or the stars that are more visible at night. Sometimes it’s not always a reflex action. But “rinsing and repeating”, in combination with one or some of the above ways, sure help to make it more so.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Singing the Blues

  1. Pingback: How Not To Suffer | Views Splash!

  2. Pingback: Singing the Blues | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Blues | The Wandering Poet

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Singing the Blues | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  5. Pingback: 10 Tips for Beating the Blues (+ an Amusing Picture) | lynnesartandsoul

  6. Pingback: NEVER ALONE | Hastywords

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

