Macro Monday: Cup Fungi

This gallery contains 3 photos. It’s a regular science field trip in my backyard! At least I can put a name to these backyard oddities: cup fungi (which lack a stalk)! Did you know that they are shaped like cups so that drops of water can splash out the spores?

Cup Fungi (colony)

Apparently, cup fungi are one of the first signs of spring. This itty bitty one is just starting out. It looks like a shower cap that’s been upended.

Cup Fungus (small)

This one is all grown up, and its cup has already runneth over. These cup fungi could be edible, but I’ll pass on sprinkling them over my salad. Slugs and snails may have slithered over them.

Cup Fungus (large)

4 thoughts on “Macro Monday: Cup Fungi

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

