Not the Flight of the Bumblebee

This gallery contains 3 images. More of a journey than a flight, but I was glad to capture this bumblebee as it pollinated the urn-shaped flowers of the Pieris Japonica. Taken on April Fool’s Day 2014 (no kidding!)

Bumblebee on Pieris Japonica 1

Some of the bumblebees in our neighbourhood have been quite big (one was as big as a mouse!) — when I spotted this one, it was a huge, black round blob, and initially, I thought a giant black spider had landed on the Mountain Fire bush (which mesmerized me for five seconds).

Bumblebee on Pieris Japonica 1

The bumblebees seem not to stay as long as the honeybees when they gather nectar, so this was a rare opportunity for me. Nevertheless, it’s good to see these industrious little workers in action!

Bumblebee on Pieris Japonica 1

9 thoughts on “Not the Flight of the Bumblebee

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

