Daily Prompt: In the Summertime

Garden "butchart gardens", Vancouver...

Butchart Gardens, Vancouver Island, BC, Canada (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Theoretically, summer will return to the polar-vortex-battered Northern Hemisphere. What are you looking forward to doing this summer? If you’re in the Southern Hemisphere, what are your fondest memories of Summer past?

Unlike many parts of the Canada and the U.S., our winter was a relatively warm one with few days of actual snowfall (it’s the spring that’s actually been a bit chilly).

Snow is such a novelty in temperate Vancouver that it’s a guaranteed newsmaker; the hint, smell, or mention of snowfall is likely to send Vancouverites scurrying for cover, walking like penguins on icy surfaces, or staying off the roads altogether. But with my snow tires, I’m a little more confident that my car won’t be doing donuts in inclement weather.

Summer is the season that I dread, more than any other. If it’s not the biting flies, it’s the pollen-based allergies (which will have me sneezing in machine gun bursts for the first 3 weeks of June), the heat, and the humidity. The sleepless nights and the itchy red eyes. Hopefully, my consumption of honey will mitigate the hayfever, but I don’t think wearing citronella wrist bands will keep the nasty black swarms of bloodsuckers at bay.

A hovering Rufous Hummingbird on Saltspring Island

A Rufous Hummingbird on Saltspring Island (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t look forward to summer. Tolerate is more like it. But at least there are the fringe benefits of beautiful flowers, luscious fruit, and fresh from the vine veggies to enjoy in my (private) garden, and relaxing strolls to take in local public gardens like VanDusen and UBC Botanical.

I will also be looking forward to photographing the elusive hummingbird in my desmesnes — Anna’s or Rufous or Calliope. I have both seen and heard at close range, but never had the opportunity to immortalize one on digital film. To that end (and in addition second nectar feeder purchased earlier this year), I have fortified myself with over $80 worth of purchases from the local nursery that promise to lure these flying jewels to my backyard garden: lemon frost, bee balm, fragrant honeysuckle, and anise hyssop will join the potted geraniums (which are currently housebound until warmer temperatures prevail) and flaming red fuschia.

Let the adventures begin.

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: In the Summertime

  1. Pingback: A matter of degrees | Mindful Digressions

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: In the Summertime | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: A Hangover Too Long | Views Splash!

  4. Pingback: Daily prompt: Summer | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: Summer is around the corner and I am looking forward to… | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

