Daily Prompt: When Will I Be Loved?

Have you dreamt of becoming famous? What would your claim to fame be? Comedy? Acting? Writing? Race car driving? Go!

Fame is a fleeting, spontaneous, and fickle game; what’s hot today may be cold tomorrow.

Fame can be cultivated, and it comes with a price. I do like to share myself in tongue-in-cheek stories or photographs on my blog, but I’ve never felt the need to tailor (or reinvent) myself, either as a person or a brand, for a specific audience, or seek external approval or validation of my efforts. Which probably means I’ll never have the (twin) perk of extreme wealth, either — unless happy coincidence smiles upon me, and I hold the winning lottery ticket to told and untold riches. 🙂

Fame is likely to bring lots of attention to me. Being an introvert (most of the time), the limelight is one place I choose to shun … vigorously.

This doesn’t mean that I don’t try to reach for the stars in whatever I do, but I am happiest when I am toiling behind the scenes. I’ll (quietly) let my achievements speak for themselves. Or let others do it on my behalf — which would sort of make them personal cheerleaders.

I love to write, to sing, and to be creative with my camera lens, but that doesn’t mean I’ll be the next Stephen King, Sarah Brightman, or Ansel Adams. Because I believe that it’s more important to be happy than famous. If money and recognition follow for my efforts, they will be incidental and serendipitious occurrences on the journey I take.

See more at Daily Prompt: When Will I Be Loved?

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

