“Pebbles” Enjoys Her Bath

This is “Pebbles”, a young (juvenile) female Anna’s hummingbird. Have you ever seen a hummingbird take a bath, much less on the ground? This one did, flying up and down in the spray of a leaking hose before settling on the ground. No need for fancy hummingbird fountains here! I was fortunate enough to be able to sneak around and use the hybrid fruit tree as a bird blind and photograph her from just a few feet away. She’s using a pebble to prop herself up — because their tiny feet are set so far back, hummingbirds would fall over otherwise without any support. If you’ve ever had the privilege of holding a hummingbird in the palm of your hand, you’ll see that they lie on their bellies.

Female Anna's Hummingbird Hovers

MY ZAZZLE WEBSITE   www.zazzle.ca/walkswithnature
MY PIXELS.COM WEBSITE   pixels.com/profiles/hui-sim.html

15 thoughts on ““Pebbles” Enjoys Her Bath

  1. Beautiful shot. I saw yesterday a documentary about the hummingbirds. I’ve learned that they were located only on our continent (north and south). And so different ways to get their nectar. Very fascinating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • curiosity can be a great teacher for me. 🙂

      the bird order they belong to, Apodiformes, is Latin for ‘without feet.’

      because eating, drinking, and defending their territory are such energy-intensive activities for them, hummingbirds actually spend 70% of their time resting. the hovering you see them do actually consumes 30% or less of their waking hours.

      at night, just before going into torpor, they load up on nectar (and can spend up to 10 minutes feeding from flowers or the nectar feeder). we humans wouldn’t “drink plenty of fluids before bed”, but I’m guessing that they do this so they can store up some fuel to help them get going next morning. 🙂

      Cheers, Hui

      Like

    • thank you, Chris!

      as hummingbirds are strictly New World birds, you’d have to come to the Americas to see them. I hear the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum is a great place to see at least a dozen different species.

      for sheer numbers and varieties though, Ecuador, Colombia, and Peru have each at least 130 different species!! 🙂

      Cheers,
      Hui

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Hui,
    I’m sorry for my ‘late’ comments, but I’ve been enjoying your photos very much.
    I love this shot of ‘Pebbles’ and I wish I can see these beautiful birds with my eyes someday.
    The 2 hummingbirds documentary films seem really interesting! I’ll definitely try to watch them during the week 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Takami,

      No worries and no need to apologize. 🙂 Definitely you should watch both those documentaries — seeing many gorgeous species of hummingbirds in flight is absolutely breathtaking, and I’ve learned so much from them!

      Cheers,
      Hui

      Like

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

