Snow Bunting

I saw a snowflake–an alias of the Snow Bunting–hopping up and over the logs–just as I was going to try my luck for other birds on the north side of the Tsawwassen Ferry Jetty on November 19. He was hanging out with a similarly sized but much dark-coloured bird, but the latter beetled off before I could identify it.

WHSIM-Snow-Bunting19 other Snow Buntings were seen in the area a week ago, but have since left this guy alone!
f/8, 1/800, 150-500mm telephoto, 500mm, ISO 400

The Snow Bunting’s restless nature and the gusty winds made a clear, closeup shot impossible. Nevertheless, it’s “one for the books” if “not for the looks!” I was surprised to discover that this is actually the Snow Bunting’s non-breeding plumage. “Drab” looks pretty darned amazing to me!

MY ZAZZLE WEBSITE   www.zazzle.com/walkswithnature
MY PIXELS.COM WEBSITE   pixels.com/profiles/hui-sim.html

14 thoughts on “Snow Bunting

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

