Red-Breasted Sapsucker

Birding just a small clearing of forest in Minnekhada Regional Park (100m from the Quarry Road parking lot!) over the May 2016 long weekend yielded two new bird species for my life list, including this Red-Breasted Sapsucker, who chose to make its cameo as I was photographing some other summertime birds I don’t see in my neck of the woods (Black-Headed Grosbeak, Yellow Warbler, and Western Tanager).

Red-Breasted Sapsucker
male and female Red-Breasted Sapsuckers sport identical plumages

f/6.3, 1/400, 500mm, ISO 2500 

S/he flew low to the ground on its first pass, and all I saw was a bright flash of red on its head, so at first, I thought it was a Pileated Woodpecker — and then, a few seconds later, it flew straight to this dead tree and started pecking away at it. This handsome woodpecker did not call — but its bright red head did all the talking for it. It was all I could do not to stop and stare. Photographed on May 22.

MY ZAZZLE STORE   www.zazzle.com/walkswithnature*
ON FACEBOOK   www.facebook.com/whsimphotography
ON TWITTER   www.twitter.com/whuisim
ON GOOGLE+   plus.google.com/u/0/+WHSIM

28 thoughts on “Red-Breasted Sapsucker

    • thanks, Deb! things are starting to get back to normal, birdwise! 4 female Rufous Hummingbirds and 1 male Anna’s hummingbird in the backyard today made for an entertaining day! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Can’t imagine the world without the gorgeous birds! Beautiful shots! I am back from my bird and animal sighting trip to the Nilgiris, and was awestruck by what I saw there.. Posted some of my proud photographs recently on my blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

