My First Pink Salmon

Caught my first pink salmon in 2009, just from the shore of the popular Dyke Trail in Richmond, BC. For a two-and-a-half pounder, it sure put up a fight for five minutes–so much so that one of my fellow fishers must have noticed my panicked expression and offered to help me bring it in (nothing at all like the nihilistic lingcods that I hauled up boat fishing a few years before).

Autumn Fog

Every 2 years, the pink salmon return to the Fraser River, and I apparently make it a point to haul in just one. It’s better than none, but one more would help make it a less expensive catch.

Daily Prompt: Mix Tape Masterpiece

You make a new friend. Make them a mix tape (or playlist, for the younger folks) that tells them who you are through song. Music covers such an electic range of moods. There is no one song that defines me. Each is a uniquely styled hexagon on a larger quilt. Even instrumentals can be emotionally uplifting. Here are 25 songs that capture my emotions and persona. If you extrapolate the restless, romantic wanderer who yearns for the glory days of the past but is still hopeful, sometimes desperately so, for whatever tomorrow may bring, you’re pretty much on the mark.  Continue reading