L’il Scene (and Heart) Stealers

This gallery contains 3 photos. Not three feet away from me: the hard-to-photograph Black-Capped Chickadee. This is the closest I have gotten to any chickadee and had a nice, clear photo to prove it! This little guy (not entirely successful in playing peek-a-boo with me), and a few more of his kind, were curious about the song I was singing; they were constantly hopping from kiwi tree branch to laurel bush, trying to figure out the source of that noise.

Black-Capped Chickadee Plays Hide-and-Seek

Continue reading

Daily Prompt: Forever Young

Scott Fountain Detail

Scott Fountain Detail by Maia CCC-BY-NC-ND-2.0

If there were a real Fountain of Youth, would I drink the water? It depends. Would staying young in body demand some sort of concurrent sacrifice? Would there be any ill effects? Would there be a hefty emotional or financial price to pay?

If I were only one of a few in the world who could successfully drink of this fountain, this mean that I would have to watch the inevitable aging of everyone else I know who cannot partake in neoteny?

What if I am homely, or deranged? Eternal youthfulness is not synonymous with Continue reading