Wildlife Up Close: Green Winged Teal Ducks

This gallery contains 2 photos. I did not expect to get so close to Green Winged Teals. These diminutive dabbling ducks (the smallest species in North America) seem to prefer the sanctuary of remote areas to nest, eat, and flock. Photographed at Piper Spit/Burnaby Lake on November 1.

Greenwinged-Teal-Male-Standing-in-Mud

For their small size, though, Green Winged Teals can be surprisingly aggressive … they will not hesitate to push others of their own kind around, as well as the bigger ducks. On more than one occasion, we saw the males scrapping, and not always over food sources.

Greenwinged-Teal-Male-swimming

11 thoughts on “Wildlife Up Close: Green Winged Teal Ducks

  1. Ooh, duckies! And such a beautiful one too 🙂
    As you know, I love to photograph ducks too. In my opinion, they are often under-appreciated. I love the colours on this fellow, the first time I see this species!

    Like

Your comments are like chocolate for my soul ... I can never get enough of them! Bonus brownie points for witty comments! I love a good turn of phrase. :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.